#WeHateMath Blog Review – MathFiction

MathFiction is not strictly a blog per se but it’s unique enough that I felt it deserved a shout-out.  From the site description:

 

Do you like fiction and mathematics? Are you looking for a book or story that might be useful for the students in your math class? Are you interested in what our society thinks about mathematicians? Then you’ve come to the right place. This database lists over one thousand short stories, plays, novels, films, and comic books containing math or mathematicians.

 

The list is maintained by Alex Kasman, who teaches in the Department of Mathematics at the College of Charleston. I came across this site when I was doing some research for a blog post about using calculators in math class. I was trying to remember an Isaac Asimov short story that I had read which described a future where nobody is taught arithmetic any more since it’s all performed by machines. (“The Feeling of Power” [1957]) A brisk search of the Intertubes brought me to MathFiction and I was so impressed that I bookmarked it for my classroom tool kit.

You can browse through the material at your leisure or, if you have something specific in mind, use the search page, where you can either use the site-specific Google keyword search or power-search by author, title, summary, medium, genre, topic or motif. Entries are also rated by both math content (1 to 4) and literary quality. (You can search on these fields as well.)
As both a nerd and a math teacher, I have a feeling that I’ll be spending a lot of time on this site. So head on over there and tell Alex I sent you. (I’m trying to start a thing.)

Leave a Reply

