#WeHateMath Blog Review – Finding Ways to Nguyen Students Over

Ever since I started this blog, I’ve been on the lookout for other sites that talk about math and math education. I’ve covered a couple before now, but Finding Ways to Nguyen Students Over is my latest crush. Fawn Nguyen is a middle school math teacher from California and judging by the tremendous amount of great content on her site, she has apparently discovered the secret of going without sleep.

Not only does it have some great classroom exercises but there’s a good, common-sense interview with a middle school teacher about Common Core and one of my favorite posts, entitled “Blessed”, where she shares a couple of lovely hand-written notes from her students. Here’s a quote:

I’m crying and thinking I should quit teaching because it can’t get any better than this — like quit while I’m ahead.

As if that weren’t enough, there’s a section known as Math Talks, where she shares student voices as they discuss a math problem. It’s great to see the different ways that students take to approach a solution and it’s a good reminder that everyone has a slightly different learning style. In fact, there’s so much available here that I’d encourage anyone to just click on over there and start digging. If you’re like me, you’ll come out hours later wondering where the time went and you’ll be a better person.

By the way tell Fawn I sent you. (Trust me, I’m trying to start a thing.)

Leave a Reply

